We will have a BIG THREE Year Old!
The countdown for Gracie’s Big # 3 Celebration is on. We’re kissing the 2’s Bye-Bye!!
We will have a BIG THREE Year Old!
The countdown for Gracie’s Big # 3 Celebration is on. We’re kissing the 2’s Bye-Bye!!
Dear Gracie,
Somehow you are already half way through your 2’s. How did that happen? You’re not a baby anymore at all. You’re 2 AND 1/2. It makes my heart hurt just saying this. Even though I love, love, love this stage for you. So many things have changed for you and I feel like you are just blossoming into a ‘little’ person now. Here are some facts all about you!
You are getting really good at your colors. Most of the time you can identify red, yellow, orange, green, white, purple, and blue. I say most of the time because sometimes if you are in one of your ‘moods’ you don’t do anything you don’t want to! But sometimes you are so cute and smart about it. I had on a purple shirt and just randomly you said “Mommy, you got purple shirt on.” I had to look down because I didn’t even know what color shirt I had on!
You are very sensitive about things and that’s okay. Sometimes Daddy and I are trying to actually have a conversation and you get louder and louder. One of us say’s “Shh, Gracie” and you pout or even cry. You do like things done your way. Most times its your way or the highway. What can I say? It is hard to say no to you so we’re learning. Sometimes fruit snacks at 7 am or playing in the water table while we’re having dinner are just not appropriate!
You like to look at books. You still like Ladybug’s Lesson and this Sign Language Book for babies. I actually sometimes hide the Sign Language Book because I get sick of it, but not you. You study the signs and repeat them over and over. It is really neat that you like sign language. You favorite song/dance is Ring Around the Rosies. You LOVE this. You really love it when Mommy and Daddy do it with you and we all fall down!
You are very in-tune with people’s feelings. ANYTIME we hear a baby crying you say “Zat baby? What’s wrong with him? Why is she crying?” Sometimes I’ll hurt myself or stub my toe, or Jack steps on my food and all it takes is one little “ouch” from me and you say ‘What happened, Mommy?” “You hurt? I’ll kiss it!”
Such a sweet girl you are! You take care of all the other kiddos at Lisa’s house. She tells me every day what a helper you are. You help put on shoes, take off shoes, open doors and everything. I really wonder where that came from! You’re a little mother already!!
We’re still working on potty training. I never thought it would take this long but you just move at your own pace, I guess. You potty every day, all day #1. At Lisa’s house and on weekends you don’t wear diapers or pull ups. It’s the #2 that’s the problem. Even though you’ve done it in the potty you just don’t like to. I was in the bathroom with you last weekend as you were ‘trying’ and you got a big pouty lip out and said “zit not working for me, Mommy!” We’re sure working on it, hard!! I’m so ready for this to be OVER!!!
Your talking cracks us up. Some of your expressions/sayings are:
Gay-cie (Gracie)
nook and orange juice
Why Not? (this is said over and over and over!)
Wha doin’ Mommy? Wha doin’ Daddy?
Where da cows? They hiding?
My Turn
No, I don’t want to!
Here are some words to describe YOU:
smart, funny, loud, quiet, peaceful, imaginative, loving, sweet, spicy, mischievous, spirited, inquisitive, artistic, and FUNNY!
Facts about you at 2 and 1/2
Shoe size: 6 1/2
Weight: 31 pounds
Gracie Girl, We LOVE YOU!!
I met my mom at Nana and Papaw’s yesterday and she gave me her memory card with some more party pics on it. I was so glad to have some extra pictures!
I love this one of Abbie and Gracie! Look at their faces!!
Greeting some sweet party guests; Andrea and her sweet girls Annie and Maggie. We were so lucky to have such a beautiful day!
Here’s cute Joey. He is just 3 weeks younger than Gracie. His dad and I grew up together and now they live just a few blocks away from us.
Some guest enjoying their lunch. We have Jonah in blue, next to Maggie, Andrea, Annie, Macie, and Trenton. Such cute, sweet kiddos!!
Maxum being silly. He LOVES parties! He has at least one every weekend I think!
Abbie and Annie in the play room having fun.
Look at this sweet girl, don’t you just want to pinch those cheeks? This is Lily and I am so glad she made it to the party. Gracie was in love with her! A REAL baby in her house!!
Gracie was eyeing all the great presents!
The Aftermath.. Presents Galore!
Poor Lydia was upset and Gracie was very concerned!
After the party was pretty much over my cousin Paula and her husband Weston dropped by to see the birthday girl. They were in town from San Antonio. It was good to see them and Gracie got to show them her new toys!
I think that about does it! Thanks for taking all these pictures GG!!
Gracie’s party was today at 11 and everything went over pretty smoothly. We learned a few lessons from last year and learned even more this year! I made cupcakes for the kids and had Kroger do a cake for the adults. I thought they did a pretty cute job decorating it!
This year we got Jason’s Deli sandwiches, my mom made pasta salad, we had chips, grapes, cheese, dips, and snacks for the kiddos.
Me and the Birthday Girl before the excitement started!
Family Birthday Picture
I was thrilled for nice weather. It was nice and cool, but sunny. Most of the kids ate outside when they were ready. The picnic table sure came in handy :) I just love how Gracie and Jonah are staring down Maxum as he’s being a goof ball!
Cupcake/Singing Time
Isn’t her shirt so cute? A lady here in McKinney made it. She has an adorable site and does all sorts of things. I’ll have to post it later!
Playing with her friends…
Present time! She got so many wonderful presents. She got some fun coloring books, stickers, aquadoodle, lots of stuff for her babies, new babies, puzzles, books, Fancy Nancy stuff, a precious horse on a stick, clothes, and some fun kitchen accessories. Her favorite, favorite gift though is this baby that her Aunt Alison and Uncle Kirk gave her that makes all these noises and moves. She is IN LOVE with it and will not go anywhere without it. They said it’s pay back for some of obnoxious gifs I’ve gotten Maxum!
Thank you to Uncle Kirk and Gracie’s Daddy for opening and un-doing boxes to get babies and toys out right away!!
The Birthday Girl with GG and Pop
Me and Gracie with Nicole and Lydia
Lydia was eyeing Gracie’s new baby!
And that’s about all the pictures I got. I know my mom got more. This year was more fun because she was totally more into it and actually played with her friends and had fun opening her gifts. But, I was more busy this time. I feel like I didn’t get to talk to anyone and thank goodness Alison grabbed my camera and took some for me! That’s just the way it is I guess. Everything was over so fast- just like it always is…All the hard work was totally worth it though. Gracie had a wonderful time. Tonight when I was putting her to bed. I said “Did you have a good day today?” and said said “Yea! More party?” Poor thing, she’s gotta wait 12 more months for her birthday!!!
And after the party? Well, the day after (Sunday) we had planned on going to the state fair, the weather had other plans. It rained and rained and was pretty cold so we stayed home and stayed in our pj’s all morning. Not a bad plan if you ask me! We don’t get have too many days like that. I wrote thank you notes, cleaned up, re-organized her play room, and Gracie played her little heart out.
Look at this crazy girl in the babies play pen! We can’t keep her out of it! This is part of the Graco play set Kirk, Alison, and Maxum got her. It’s a swing, feeding center, baby seat, swing, stroller, and play pen. It’s like baby day care over here!!
She also had fun popping the balloons with her Daddy!
Thank you, Thank you to everyone you came to her party and making her day so special. It means so much to us. I still can’t believe we have a TWO year old!!
The day of Gracie’s party she woke up around 6:15 (her usual time). I got her up and brought her into our bed to watch a little tv. I’m trying to get her to watch other things like even Sesame Street and she won’t do it. She screams for Barney until it comes on. (Yuck!) We watched a little bit then all got up to start getting ready for her party. When we came down stairs I had wrapped a few of her presents and had them on the coffee table. I didn’t say anything to her about them. She ran to them and started opening them. I’m glad they were hers :)
Her big present was her kitchen that we got back in July. There is no way I could have hidden that giant thing this long! We also got her a little baby care center. It’s nice that it all fold up and fits inside that cute little pink storage bin (thank you target!). She LOVED it. I got her a bunch of art supplies like feathers and beads and all sorts of fun stuff. Look how nice and clean her play room is. You should have seen it during/after her party when boys attacked her room!! Too funny!
I was so thankful for this baby center thing though. It kept her so busy the entire morning while we were doing stuff. I even got her to take an hour nap before the party so she’s be all rested!!Here are some pictures of the decorations. I didn’t do much this year:
Gracie’s birthday was on Friday this year. I went ahead and sent her to school as planned because she only goes once a week. I did wake her up singing “Happy Birthday” to her. This was not my idea at all. I got this from my friend, Nicole. I thought this was so sweet. Please excuse the singing. It was 6:15 in the morning, and I am NOT a music teacher (good thing!) It’s sorta long, but she does warm up at the end. She was VERY confused. I usually do not turn on the bright light that early!!
We always leave her in her pj’s because GG takes her to school at 9. She slipped on her Daddy’s glasses and thought she was so funny!
She had a good day at school but still cried at drop off and pick up :( GG sent wonderful birthday snacks and I think the kids scarfed down every last bite! She did get to wear her cute birthday girl t-shirt and the teachers had a birthday crown for her.
We picked her up at 3:45, ran some errands and then came home to get ready for the party. We took a break for dinner and got Chick fil a. It was such a beautiful night that we sat outside and ate!
That night we let her play and play but still put her to bed at a decent time because we had a big, big day on Saturday. I gave her a bubble bath while Kelly did yard work. (She loves bubbles in the tub!) As soon as I put her down to bed I got busy doing stuff and did not stop until late, late! There was so much to do!
I made Kelly stop and take my picture baking cup cakes. They may not have been the cutest, but they sure were made with LOVE!!