Tuesday, February 01, 2011

ICE day!

We are having an ice day today. Even though it was almost 80 degrees just a few days ago the temps dropped over 50 degrees and we got solid ice (sleet) from midnight until 8ish this morning. Gracie woke up 2 times around midnight because of the rain. Then at 4:30 I woke up and the ice was pounding our windows. I was scared it was going to break it. Then we had such loud thunder that made our entire house shake. I looked at the monitor and sure enough Gracie was sitting up screaming her head off, scared. I went in there and I knew there was no way she was going to stay in there. I told her she could come to our bed but no tv and she had to sleep (yea, right!). It kept sleeting and thundering. Shortly after 5 I turned the news on. I thought there was no way we’d have school. It took forever for the P’s to finally roll around on the closed schools but the greatest news, we’re closed Smile Over 750 districts and cities were closed in DFW today!!

IMG_0368

IMG_0369

This was about as good as I could do, it was so cold out and the winds were blowing so hard!!

IMG_0370

                 This was outside our front door, solid ice!!

Gracie was so wanting to go out and play in the snow. She just saw white stuff and thought it was snow. We bundled up (like covering every bit of skin!) and went out for about 5 minutes.

IMG_0372

IMG_0374

She was in heaven! She wanted to stay out longer but we made her come in. After that we got busy working. She’s used to being active all day long so I had her do some projects. We made her friends Valentines, painted, baked, and did some crafts!

DSC_0001-3

DSC_0003-3

 

DSC_0004-3

DSC_0006-2

DSC_0007-1

I also cleaned out her play room closet and now we’re all about ready for naps! (especially me!!) Kelly has been in heaven because Super Bowl coverage in DFW has started and he could watch that stuff 24/7! We’re wondering what’s in store for us tomorrow. No more snow but right now with the wind we’re at –1. They said the coldest temps since Jan. of 96! It’s not supposed to get out of the 20’s until Friday.

1 comment:

Janette @ The Johanson Journey said...

Its so nice to have a guilt free day off!! I love love love it!! Hard to believe its sticking around for another day at home tomorrow!! Enjoy!